Skip to content

Tasty Tufts Top Comfort Food

Kummerspeck. It literally translates to “grief bacon” in German, but really it is used to describe that weight you gain when you eat your emotions. We have all been there—maybe a bad day or final exams will cause you to consume comforting calories or unearthly loads of sugar to make you feel better. Then all of a sudden… Kummerspeck. But it doesn’t matter because food makes you feel good when you’re down, like a best friend cuddling with you as your Netflix queue is ready to be played. So as finals approach and the stress of the semester buries you in Tisch, just remember that food will always be there to help you get through the all-nighters, especially at 2 AM when you don’t care about your intricate summer diet or how many yoga classes it would take to make up for the splurge eating. Let’s face it, we all have that kryptonite dish that we binge eat while Icona Pop serenades our thoughts with I Love It. So I asked my foodie friends what comfort food they splurge on when they are feeling down and overwhelmed. Here’s what they had to say:

This is a tough one but my favorites are probably ordering cheesy bread (and/or super cheesy pizza), chocolate and almonds together, or any flavor pint of Ben and Jerry’s ice cream.  Annaick M.

Source: Browneyedbaker

Source: Browneyedbaker

My favorite comfort food is anything with cheese, a good vegetable chili or any sort of delicious, crusty bread. Ahh just getting hungry thinking about it!  Jay S.

Source: Tiny Green Mom

Source: Tiny Green Mom

My #1 comfort food is fried chicken, which I sadly have yet to find the perfect version of in Boston. It’s my first meal when I’m back in Chicago and my last one before I leave (from Harold’s for all our Chicago Jumbos). It’s the ultimate comfort food: filling and rich with the perfect balance of sweet, tangy and spicy. When finals time rolls around I inevitably wish I was home so I could get my fix. I’m still looking for a substitute nearby so if anyone has a recommendation, let me know! Joyce H.

Source: Anythinggoes

Source: Anythinggoes

Freshly baked corn bread with butter. Rice. Sushi.  Gabe S.

Source: Joanna Goddard

Source: Joanna Goddard

Chocolate.  And maybe rice.  Alison S.

Source: Plumpie Cooks

Source: Plumpie Cooks

Ramen or mac and cheese.  Kat E.

Source: Gourmet

Source: Gourmet

Ice cream if I have it.  Otherwise grilled cheese.  Emily H.

Source: Fanpop

Source: Fanpop

Sweet potato.  Steph C.

Source: Cooking Whims

Source: Cooking Whims

Chipotle makes everything ok.  Brian P.

Source: City Pages

Source: City Pages

Hmm, does Pocky count? Win H.

Source: Bohnenhase

Source: Bohnenhase

Noodles with poached eggs.  Cherry Y.

Source: In Sock Monkey Slippers

Source: In Sock Monkey Slippers

For me, I need fries.  Warm, fresh, crunch on the outside, and starchy on the inside.  Oh and rosemary, olive oil, and sea salt sprinkled on top for the perfect finish.  I became addicted to fries when I would go with my high school friends to burger joints, but as a vegetarian, the only thing I was able to order were the fries.  And so whenever I eat fries, I think about those carefree memories surrounded by my friends back at home.  And if Kummerspeck is a consequence of the ephemeral happiness I have while eating, then so be it.

Source: Sulia

Source: Sulia

-Courtney Chiu

Cover photo source.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

