Skip to content

Tasty Tufts’ Top Hot Cocoa!

Winter is coming and it is time to pull out those parkas and fuzzy hats. It is the time of year when hot drinks are a must. A warm cup of hot cocoa is my go-to when I am cozy at home hanging out with friends or I need a soothing drink in the library.

So, what’s the best hot cocoa ever? I asked my fellow writers to give their expert opinion on their favorite hot cocoa. What’s your favorite?!

Source: Restaurant Girl

Source: Restaurant Girl

‪I don’t have a favorite mix or recipe, but my favorite type is traditional Mexican hot chocolate (made with semi-sweet chocolate, cinnamon, vanilla, sugar, other spices)!!! Delicious.

-Annaick M.

Source: Dumbo NYC

Source: Dumbo NYC

My favorite hot cocoa place in the whole world is Jacques Torres in New York.  The sizes are small but the chocolate is so rich and delicious!  It’s perfect to drink on a park bench in the Winter.  Their instant mix is also wonderful (I always get it for Christmas) and my mom makes a divine batch of it for my family.  Her secret is to warm up the milk in a pot first, then add in the dry mix.

-Courtney C.

Source: Toscareno

Source: Toscareno

‪My favorite hot chocolate is the mocha – I don’t have a favorite place to go to for this in Boston (my favorite place is in New York) or a favorite mix… I’m pretty easily satisfied when it comes to mochas.

-Alison S.

Source: Boston Common Magazine

Source: Boston Common Magazine

Without a doubt or a second thought, I go for LA Burdick. There is one near Copley in Boston, and one in Harvard Square. It’s the most decadent thing you’ll ever drink. Go for milk unless you absolutely hate sweet—then go for dark.

-Gabe S.

Source: Local Goods Chicago Facebook Page

Source: Local Goods Chicago Facebook Page

My favorite hot chocolate is Chocolate Twist’s Twisted Hot Cocoa Mix. It’s an amazing small batch mix that packs a punch with a hint of cinnamon and cayenne. Plus, it comes in an adorable Mason jar mug that you can reuse. Bonus points if you add some of their incredible handmade marshmallows–I especially recommend the rosewater cardamom ‘mallows (check them out!).

-Joyce H.

Source: NYC Cooks

Source: NYC Cooks

I never really get hot chocolate out but I honestly love Dunkin’s white hot chocolate. I’m just a classic Nestle hot chocolate guy…but sometimes I put in a dash of cayenne for a punch of heat!

-Jay S.

Source: The Town Dish

Source: The Town Dish

I like Mexican-style spiced hot chocolate, especially when it’s rich and not too sweet. Good (whole) milk, good dark chocolate, and spices like nutmeg, allspice, and cinnamon are good. Up here in Boston, I’d recommend some of Taza’s dark chocolate tablets (available at Dave’s!) as a good replacement for good-quality imported drinking chocolate, since the Mexican stuff that gets all the way up here is full of weird fillers.

-Edmund B.

Source: Mr. Chocolate

Source: Mr. Chocolate

Jacques Torres hot chocolate mix!

-Damanpreet P.

Finally, I thought I would give my two cents…

I am not a big sweets person, so I like making my own hot chocolate. I love to use milk instead of water because it makes the drink rich, filling, and delectable. All I use is  dark chocolate cocoa powder, cane sugar, and a dash of cinnamon!

If I am looking to treat myself, L.A. Burdick is the place to go. Make sure you have a light meal before going because you are going to drink liquid chocolate (that’s how rich it is).

-Shoshana Weiner

Cover photo source.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

