Skip to content

Tasty Tufts Reveals Starbucks Secrets

I have my two drinks at Starbucks: the java chip frappuccino and a café mocha with half chocolate and half peppermint syrup. My favorite mocha isn’t listed on the menu, but I just like the combination and it is always a lovely, refreshing drink. I never really realized it, but Starbucks has a plethora of drinks that aren’t listed on their menu. They have a secret menu!Upon hearing this, I immediately did my research. I came up with a website for Starbucks fans, groupies, addicts, whatever you may call them. Here, I found the golden list of all secret drinks. Score! I scrolled through all twelve pages of frappes with my mouth watering as I read about peppermint patty frappes, cotton candy, twix, kit kat, and nutella Frappuccinos. Can you tell I tend to lean towards the chocolate flavored drinks? I compiled a list of drinks and recipes to take to Starbucks so I could basically try everything and get my caffeine/sugar fix for days.

IMG_3991

Mexican Hot Chocolate.

Mexican chocolate is known to have a healthy portion of cinnamon mixed in with the cocoa. I chose to try this drink because 1. I was cold and 2. I always put cinnamon in my hot chocolate. The recipe is as follows:

  • Milk (soy milk please and thank you)
  • 1 pump mocha chocolate syrup
  • 1 pump white chocolate syrup
  • 2 pump dolce cinnamon syrup
  • Cinnamon

Wow, that’s a lot of syrup! This drink was quite a sensation. So much sugar. So much, that I really didn’t enjoy the drink. There definitely was not enough mocha chocolate in there. By the time you mix in the white chocolate and dolce syrups, it dilutes the chocolate flavor leaving you with an interesting combination of (soy) milk with various syrups. I highly recommend trying Mexican hot chocolate, just maybe not at Starbucks.

IMG_3994

The Fall Mashup

Frappes are just too good to pass up, so of course I had to try a secret frappe.

  • Vanilla bean frappuccino
  • Add pumpkin spice sauce
  • Add toffee nut syrup

 

This was like liquid pumpkin pie and I loved it. Amazing flavor and I just love frappes. Pumpkin spice is probably one of the best seasonal drinks ever, so the fall mashup was perfect. The drink was not too strong (although still quite sweet). I would definitely reorder this drink, but ask for a bit less of the vanilla flavor. It takes away from the delicious pumpkin spice syrup. I also might try this drink hot. The cold fall mashup is quite the experience. I bet a vanilla hot chocolate base could be used to make a cozy warm autumn drink.

 

My experience ordering these drinks was a bit stressful. Thankfully, I had the recipes written down. The poor Starbucks barista was quite lost when I tried to explain what I wanted. I think the general assumption of a secret menu is that the employees know all the drinks; they just aren’t all listed on the menu. That is really not the case. You need to be nice and flexible when explaining exactly what drink you want. This experience netted me a plethora of secret menu Starbucks knowledge:

 

  1. You actually can just order any drink you want with any combination of syrups. Just be a polite customer and the baristas are happy to assist you!
  2. The secret menu is great, just be sure to know exactly how each secret drink is made because the baristas don’t always know.
  3. And most importantly, if you go to Starbucks and are interested in trying a secret menu item, please pick from these and get back to me. One can only handle so many frappes in one day…

 

Peppermint Pattie Frappe

  • Start with a vanilla bean frappuccino
  • Add java chips
  • Add peppermint syrup
  • Lightly coat the sides of the cup with mocha drizzle
  • Top with whip and more mocha drizzle

 

White Chocolate Cinnamon Chai Latte

  • Start with a chai latte (whole milk, no water is best)
  • Add cinnamon dolce syrup
  • Add white mocha syrup
  • Top with whipped cream & drizzle cinnamon dolce (optional) or sprinkle with cinnamon powder

 

OMG Brownie Frappe

  • Coffee based frappuccino
  • Blend in a double chocolate chunk brownie
  • Add 1.5 pumps of white mocha syrup
  • Add 1.5 pumps of toffee nut syrup
  • Top with whip (regular or chocolate) and cookie crumble

 

Hazelnut Frappe

  • Hazelnut Frappuccino
  • Whole banana blended in

 

Ferro Rocher Frappe

  • Double chocolate chip frappuccino or java chip frappuccino if preferred
  • Add mocha syrup
  • Add hazelnut syrup
  • Add hazelnut drizzle
  • Top with whipped cream

 

-Shoshana Weiner

 Cover photo source.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

