Skip to content

Bake Your Own Granola

If you absolutely love the crunchy goodness that is granola, you’ll love this next piece of news: granola is extremely easy to make, way cheaper than whatever you’ll get at cafés, and potentially healthier than the other snacks you’d otherwise be snacking on, unless your de-stressing dessert is greek yoghurt or berries.

In one sentence, all you need to do is: combine the dry ingredients, pour your sticky concoction over it, stir for an even coating, bake, enjoy.

 IMG_4443

I followed this recipe primarily, which provided similar instructions to these other websites. 

A trip to Market Basket and several to Hodgdon (where bags of nuts like almonds and lightly salted sunflower seeds go for $4.25) helped me with all of my ingredients, and a friend’s kitchen helped me with my baking.

 IMG_4427

I used rolled oats, assorted nuts (almonds, pecans, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds), honey, brown sugar, eggs, olive oil and sea salt. Add-ons can include dried fruit like raisins, chocolate chunks, coconut flakes, which should all be mixed in after baking.

Depending on how much money you want to put into your granola, you can opt out of getting more-expensive nuts like pecans or purchase cheaper brands of honey and rolled oats, and use canola oil instead of extra-virgin olive oil or coconut oil.

IMG_4430

After half-hour intervals of baking, I realized that non-homebaked granola actually has A LOT more added sugar than I would ever want for myself. Even though I was using more honey than the recipe called for, the sweetness of the baked granola wasn’t as strong as what I’d expected. 

 IMG_4437

A confession: I am not very conscientious when it comes to the precise art of culinary endeavors. I misread the website (how did that happen, right?) and baked all batches at 350 degrees, burning the first batch and melting a baking sheet after 30min of high heat. For subsequent batches, I baked them for 10-15 minutes at 350 degrees. The granola still tasted delicious! 

IMG_4445

-Min Yi Tan

Cover photo source.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Yum! I’ve been wanting to make my own granola for ages.x

    October 13, 2014

Leave a Reply

